Three

I have this Christmas Cactus. It is extremely prolific, generous with its blooms. As you can see. It blooms several times a year, dozens of flowers each time. It’s almost casual in its exuberance. It requires so little care, and provides such rich rewards.

20161203_114907

(I have another one, too, scrawnier and sadder, which has never bloomed. Never, that is, until last week, when I noticed several buds ranging from tiny to large and almost ready to burst into flower.  I have no idea why it finally decided to bloom, and it certainly won’t be as spectacular as this one, but it hardly matters. I tried to photograph it, but it stubbornly refused to be photogenic. You’ll have to take my word for it.)

20161203_114920

I’m not the photographer I wish I was – my hands shake, my eye isn’t as good as I wish it was, I’m often too rushed going from one thing to another to take the time to get a good picture, and frankly my camera (phone) doesn’t make the job a whole lot easier. But sometimes I get pictures I really like. A generously blooming Christmas cactus helps.

By the way, did you know that the botanical name for the Christmas Cactus is Schlumbergera? I didn’t, but now that I do, I can understand why hardly anyone calls it that.

20161203_114950

(Post inspired by the WP Discover Challenge One, Two, Three!)

 

This entry was posted in Photography, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

