White Flowers

white flowers

So, two-thirds of the way through my month of photography, and what have I learned?

Well, about my own photography, I’ve learned a few things:

  1. My new (old) camera isn’t great. It isn’t terrible, but it’s not great*. I can get some decent shots with it – like the white flowers above – but more often than not, it’s just not up to the job.
  2. My hands aren’t as steady as I would like. This is particularly true in low-light and/or high-speed situations.
  3. My eye isn’t as good as I would like. This is one of those ‘practice, practice, practice’ situations, and I haven’t given up.
  4. On the plus side, I’ve become less inhibited about taking pictures when I see something interesting or beautiful or cool.
  5. It’s an easy thing to forget, but in some ways taking the pictures is the easy part. Sorting through what you have, selecting, cropping, and mourning the missed shots can take much longer.

In the course of researching famous photographers, I have also learned a few things:

  1. The paths that noted photographers take are often indirect. For instance, Man Ray started using photography to document his other work, and then began to embrace it as an art form on his own merits.
  2. The ability to view your pictures as you take them can be both a blessing and a curse. Photographers using film cameras had one job – to shoot. Now you can see whether you got ‘the shot’ immediately, which is great, but at the same time it can be difficult to refrain from critiquing your work as you are doing it. And we all know how rough that can be.
  3. Everyone has their thing, the thing that they are really good at, the subjects that really speak to them. Those are the shots that sing.

So. I’ll be posting about at least two other photographers before the month is out, and I will post at least a few more of my own photos.

I’m also working on a plan to get my hands on a better camera, and will continue to take more pictures, and try to develop my eye. And I will continue to seek depth and inspiration from the work of other photographers.

And how is June going for you?

 

* It turns out that the resolution on my phone is about twice as good as the resolution on my camera. Isn’t technology amazing?

 

ETA – I forgot the pingback to the WP photo challenge, which this week is curve. Because the flower petals are curved. And, you know, the learning curve. So curve. Yeah. Curve.  (It’s possible that I need a nap.)

This entry was posted in Images I love, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to White Flowers

  1. artistpath says:

    Technology is amazing! I can’t believe the quality of my iPhone camera. But I will confess, that I use the edit feature to determine the composition and adjust the lightening…that frees me up take the pictures and worry about the rest later. Happy June!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re so right! Instructors will always tell you it’s best to edit, crop, compose the photo in the camera, and they have a point, but now that you can edit the photo in the camera but after you took the shot, it can be a whole different endeavor.

      Like

  2. dawnkinster says:

    I know. I have a Cannon….which I enjoy…but my husband’s phone shots are as good or better in a lot of situations. Love your flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That’s such a good point – having really thought about it now, I’m wondering whether I should want a better camera or a better phone. Of course, having the ability to change lenses gives the camera a real edge.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Curve (place de la Concorde) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves – Say It With A Camera

Leave a Reply

