K is for Klompen

I am not Dutch, and I have never worn traditional Dutch wooden shoes. In fact, I have rarely even thought about them. Until, that is, the other day, when I came across a video of folks making these shoes. When was the last time you watched a hunk of log be transformed into a shoe, by people wielding giant blades who manage never to damage their valuable body parts? The mix of human and mechanical skill is so impressive, and the motion of the machines is almost poetic. And the soundtrack! Well, of course I had to share:

 

The title at the beginning, by the way, translates to ‘the clog factory in Hoogeveen.’ And now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go find my old Dansko clogs and appreciate their heritage and workmanship.

(Posted today as my Day 11 entry in the Blogging from A to Z Challenge)

This entry was posted in Challenges, Miscellany, Videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to K is for Klompen

  1. I’ve owned a few pair of clogs. I’m always surprised how comfortable they are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

