D is for David and Dinah (and Iggy and Dick)

OK, I will admit that this one is somewhat randomly selected, but when I found out that forty-ish years ago, the late, great David Bowie appeared on the Dinah Shore show, I was intrigued. When I found out that he brought his good friend Iggy Pop with him, well, that’s when I knew what my blog post was going to be for the letter D.

Now, for anyone who is wondering just exactly who this Dinah Shore person is, trust me, I’m with you. She does require some explaining, though for the purposes of this story, if the names Mike Douglas or Merv Griffin ring bells, then you are in the right ball park. Prior to being a talk show host, she was an actress, singer (or ‘vocalist’ to use the term of the time), and then a television personality and Chevrolet pitch-woman.  (If you want more information about her, including what she did to promote women’s professional golf, you can get an overview here.) For now what you want to know is that as a talk show host, she had really interesting  taste in guests.

I actually found a video of Bowie and Iggy’s full performance on Dinah’s show in April of 1977, but in the last few days it was taken down due to copyright issues, which is very sad.

To make up for that disappointment, here is a 32 minute video of Bowie performing and being interviewed on The Dick Cavett Show in 1974. There’s no Iggy, but if you’ve got some time to kill, it’s pretty great.

 

(Posted today as my Day 4 entry in the Blogging from A to Z Challenge)

This entry was posted in Challenges, Miscellany and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to D is for David and Dinah (and Iggy and Dick)

  1. Very cool. I enjoy your blog a lot.

    @TheRealSPA
    I waste megabytes over at WALDINA
    There will be a new #AtoZchallenge post every day @ 10AM PDT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie says:

    Great videos, thanks for sharing, the world is a much duller place without David in it 😦

    @LunaNoctis from There She Goes

    Liked by 1 person

  3. James Stack says:

    I love David Bowie – still do – always will – great show – and to think I could have seen it when it first aired – senior in college in 1974 – also in Boston after college – wasn’t sure of the date of this – thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • While I was never a watcher of Dinah Shore, I have very fond memories of the Dick Cavett show – though I have no idea whether I saw that one. I’m glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for visiting and commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

