Rescue

ravine

(The challenge: A story in five sentences. Less than 100 words. Beginning, middle and end.)

A new smell, a new sound, coming from where the ground ends – I sniff my way to the edge and look. There, just below, a human on a small ledge, looking around, yelling, smelling scared. I bark, and the scared human jumps, almost falls, startled to hear a noise that he isn’t making. Now my human comes up from behind me, puts her hand on my neck, asks what I see. “Hold on,” she calls to the human below, “I’m going to get you help.”

(Photo via Philippe Vieux-Jeanton via Flickr)

(Flash Fiction Challenge via terribleminds.)

This entry was posted in Flash fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rescue

  1. Love the perspective of the dog. Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. glenavailable says:

    Ist person voice – no.
    2nd person voice – no.
    3rd person voice – no.
    Lovable Loyal Lassie voice – yes.

    Really well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

